The Fort Lee Fire Prevention Bureau will begin executing Lead Based Paint (LPH) Inspections in rental dwelling units as of Tuesday, November 1. The New Jersey Lead Paint Inspection Law (S1147/ P.L.2021, c.182) went into effect this year, which requires lead paint inspections for all residential rental properties built BEFORE 1978. Under these requirements, municipalities in New Jersey are obligated to perform inspections of certain single-family, two-family, and multiple rental dwellings for lead-based paint hazards every three years or upon tenant turnover where there is no valid lead-safe certification.
* If your single- or two-family property/dwelling been previously certified to be free of lead-based paint pursuant to N.J.A.C. 5:17-3.6(b) either after an abatement was completed or an evaluation confirmed there is no lead-based paint in the dwelling, we will accept a certification form from a certified lead evaluation firm.
* If you have a multiple dwelling (3 or more units) has been registered with the Department of Community Affairs for at least 10 years with no outstanding paint violations from the most recent cyclical inspection performed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 55:13A-1, the information will be verified with the Fort Lee Housing Supervisor.
* If your property/dwelling been issued a valid lead-safe certificate issued pursuant to P.L. 2021, c.182, please submit the valid lead-safe certificate. (Lead-safe certificates are valid for two years from date of issuance.)
* If your property has never been inspected for lead or are unable to provide valid documentation, an LPH inspection must be performed. The Fire Prevention Bureau will conduct the LPH inspection; OR, in accordance with P.L. 2021, c.182, the owner/landlord may directly hire an NJ certified lead evaluation contractor.
Fort Lee is authorized to conduct investigations and issue penalties to enforce a property owner’s failure to comply with the requirements of P.L.2021, c.182. If it is determined that a property owner has failed to comply with the requirements of this law, the property owner must be given 30 days to cure any violation by ordering the necessary inspection or by initiating remediation. If the dwelling owner has not cured the violation within 30 days, the owner shall be subject to a penalty not to exceed $1,000 per week until the required inspection has been conducted or remediation efforts have been initiated.